<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
		>
<channel>
	<title>Comments on: Is One Of These IP Addresses Yours?</title>
	<atom:link href="http://antone.geckotribe.com/alpha-gecko/is-one-of-these-ip-addresses-yours/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://antone.geckotribe.com/alpha-gecko/is-one-of-these-ip-addresses-yours/</link>
	<description>Antone Roundy on technology, arts, humor, and the rest of the universe</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Thu, 04 Mar 2010 23:43:21 -0700</lastBuildDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.8.6</generator>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
		<item>
		<title>By: Anybody Wanna Join Me In A &#8220;Day Without Email&#8221; (SMTP)? &#187; Alpha Gecko</title>
		<link>http://antone.geckotribe.com/alpha-gecko/is-one-of-these-ip-addresses-yours/comment-page-1/#comment-1131</link>
		<dc:creator>Anybody Wanna Join Me In A &#8220;Day Without Email&#8221; (SMTP)? &#187; Alpha Gecko</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 17 Dec 2008 20:18:14 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://antone.geckotribe.com/alpha-gecko/2008/06/20/is-one-of-these-ip-addresses-yours/#comment-1131</guid>
		<description>[...] been getting lots of spam bounce traffic since back in June, and have implemented countermeasures that have drastically reduced the impact [...]</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>[...] been getting lots of spam bounce traffic since back in June, and have implemented countermeasures that have drastically reduced the impact [...]</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Seamus</title>
		<link>http://antone.geckotribe.com/alpha-gecko/is-one-of-these-ip-addresses-yours/comment-page-1/#comment-1103</link>
		<dc:creator>Seamus</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Sat, 04 Oct 2008 05:14:29 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://antone.geckotribe.com/alpha-gecko/2008/06/20/is-one-of-these-ip-addresses-yours/#comment-1103</guid>
		<description>66.228.115.231 is the IP Address of numerous sites owned by Brian Krassenstein, a well known spammer and scammer. He was the one responsible for the Idetrorce spam bot that hit bloggers by storm with spam comments and he has a long history of spamming for hyip&#039;s (ponzi schemes). 

He currently operates Talkgold.com forums and a pyramid scheme named TeamEarners.com amongst other schemes. If you receive any more spam from his network, contact abuse [at] softlayer and let them know or contact the FBI&#039;s cybercrimes division who are already investigating his activities.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>66.228.115.231 is the IP Address of numerous sites owned by Brian Krassenstein, a well known spammer and scammer. He was the one responsible for the Idetrorce spam bot that hit bloggers by storm with spam comments and he has a long history of spamming for hyip&#8217;s (ponzi schemes). </p>
<p>He currently operates Talkgold.com forums and a pyramid scheme named TeamEarners.com amongst other schemes. If you receive any more spam from his network, contact abuse [at] softlayer and let them know or contact the FBI&#8217;s cybercrimes division who are already investigating his activities.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: robson</title>
		<link>http://antone.geckotribe.com/alpha-gecko/is-one-of-these-ip-addresses-yours/comment-page-1/#comment-1066</link>
		<dc:creator>robson</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 23 Jul 2008 14:24:08 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://antone.geckotribe.com/alpha-gecko/2008/06/20/is-one-of-these-ip-addresses-yours/#comment-1066</guid>
		<description>5) someone send a email with forged envelope adress (SMTP command MAIL FROM:) nonexistent@your.domain to nonexistent@other.dmain and other.domain sent a bounce message to nonexistent@your.domain saying &quot;message cannot be delivered&quot;. If other.domain uses SPF and your.domain has SPF record set to accept envelope address @your.domain only from some IP range, then those mail is rejected by other.domain and no bounce message is generated.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>5) someone send a email with forged envelope adress (SMTP command MAIL FROM:) <a href="mailto:nonexistent@your.domain">nonexistent@your.domain</a> to <a href="mailto:nonexistent@other.dmain">nonexistent@other.dmain</a> and other.domain sent a bounce message to <a href="mailto:nonexistent@your.domain">nonexistent@your.domain</a> saying &#8220;message cannot be delivered&#8221;. If other.domain uses SPF and your.domain has SPF record set to accept envelope address @your.domain only from some IP range, then those mail is rejected by other.domain and no bounce message is generated.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Antone Roundy</title>
		<link>http://antone.geckotribe.com/alpha-gecko/is-one-of-these-ip-addresses-yours/comment-page-1/#comment-1065</link>
		<dc:creator>Antone Roundy</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Mon, 21 Jul 2008 15:37:48 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://antone.geckotribe.com/alpha-gecko/2008/06/20/is-one-of-these-ip-addresses-yours/#comment-1065</guid>
		<description>I never actually saw any of the emails -- my server is configured to reject them before the data is sent if the address to which they&#039;re being sent doesn&#039;t exist. I just had it track the IP addresses of the computers that were trying to send such messages.

I have SPF turned off at the moment (...don&#039;t remember for sure why I did that).

Would you care to elaborate on your last sentence? If an email to a non-existent address came to me from a particular IP address, I can imagine 4 possibilities:

1) Somebody accidentally entered the wrong address.

2) They were sending spam.

3) The computer has been cracked or infected and someone else is using it to send spam.

4) It&#039;s an open relay and is being abused to send spam. (Oh yeah, didn&#039;t mention that possibility above).

I don&#039;t see how SPF would make a difference.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I never actually saw any of the emails &#8212; my server is configured to reject them before the data is sent if the address to which they&#8217;re being sent doesn&#8217;t exist. I just had it track the IP addresses of the computers that were trying to send such messages.</p>
<p>I have SPF turned off at the moment (&#8230;don&#8217;t remember for sure why I did that).</p>
<p>Would you care to elaborate on your last sentence? If an email to a non-existent address came to me from a particular IP address, I can imagine 4 possibilities:</p>
<p>1) Somebody accidentally entered the wrong address.</p>
<p>2) They were sending spam.</p>
<p>3) The computer has been cracked or infected and someone else is using it to send spam.</p>
<p>4) It&#8217;s an open relay and is being abused to send spam. (Oh yeah, didn&#8217;t mention that possibility above).</p>
<p>I don&#8217;t see how SPF would make a difference.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: robson</title>
		<link>http://antone.geckotribe.com/alpha-gecko/is-one-of-these-ip-addresses-yours/comment-page-1/#comment-1064</link>
		<dc:creator>robson</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Mon, 21 Jul 2008 15:24:47 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://antone.geckotribe.com/alpha-gecko/2008/06/20/is-one-of-these-ip-addresses-yours/#comment-1064</guid>
		<description>Please forward spam received from 89.171.112.121 (if you still have a copy). Do you use SPF? If not, then some of these guys are probably neither spammers or hacked.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Please forward spam received from 89.171.112.121 (if you still have a copy). Do you use SPF? If not, then some of these guys are probably neither spammers or hacked.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: shamess</title>
		<link>http://antone.geckotribe.com/alpha-gecko/is-one-of-these-ip-addresses-yours/comment-page-1/#comment-1052</link>
		<dc:creator>shamess</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Sat, 21 Jun 2008 22:06:50 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://antone.geckotribe.com/alpha-gecko/2008/06/20/is-one-of-these-ip-addresses-yours/#comment-1052</guid>
		<description>Mine isn&#039;t there! Got close a few times though... Fortunately, email addresses associated with my server aren&#039;t really public (or even used)... so I doubt I&#039;ll ever have bandwidth problems from spam.

Well... hopefully!</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Mine isn&#8217;t there! Got close a few times though&#8230; Fortunately, email addresses associated with my server aren&#8217;t really public (or even used)&#8230; so I doubt I&#8217;ll ever have bandwidth problems from spam.</p>
<p>Well&#8230; hopefully!</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
</channel>
</rss>
